Review – Blood & Honey ★ Serpent & Dove #2 ★ Shelby Mahurin

Hello friends ! Today I wanted to talk about the Young Adult genre. In particular, young adult fantasy. I’ll be posting my review for Blood & Honey – the second book in Shelby Mahurin’s Serpent & Dove series tonight. So I thought I would share my personal experience with the YA genre.

You see, the last young adult book series I read in its entirety was Twilight. I was in my mid twenties at the time & the only reason I ultimately read them was because of all the hype. I had never witnessed anything like it in my life. Friends of mine, who rarely ever read for pleasure, were reading these books. I truly could not believe it. So of course, I had to know why everyone and their kitten was so obsessed.

Personally, I didnt like the books & hated every second of the mania that ensued. Today I can appreciate the hype. The book world was never the same after Twilight. For me though, I was left with a bitter after taste in my mouth.

When The Hunger Games books were being released, despite the dystopian apocolyptic setting being of more interest to me, I avoided them like the plague. There was no way I was reading books about a bunch of kids again.

In my early thirties I thought I would try the Percy Jackson series. I love mythology but I never finished the first book.

& that my friends, is the extent of my experience with the young adult genre.

Release after release. Gorgeous cover after gorgeous cover. There have been loads of YA fantasy books & series released over the years, that sounded exactly like the type of world I wanted to get lost in. Rather then read them though, I would silently curse that young adults seemed to get all the good books.

This year, I’ve decided to try again.

Check out my review for Serpent & Dove – Serpent & Dove book one, Shelby Mahurin

Check out my review for Blood & Honey – Serpent & Dove book two, Shelby Mahurin

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started